Skip to main content

Black American History: Gale Virtual Reference Library

Research Guide for History 180 and 181

About these online reference resources

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) contains specialized content in specific reference books written by subject expects.

Please Note: Remote access is available to all the online resources (i.e. e-books and periodical databases). 
To log in to the library's online resources, use the same user name and password authentication that is used to access the campus WiFi.

  • American Decades Primary Sources, 10v, 2004
  • American Immigration: An Encyclopedia of Political, Social, and Cultural Change, 2nd ed., 2014
  • Americans at War, 4v, 2005
  • Cambridge World History of Food, 2v, 2000
  • Daily Life of Women during the Civil Rights Era, 2011
  • Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity, 3v, 2005
  • Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture, 2nd ed., 6v, 2008
  • Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America, 3v, 2004
  • Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History, 2nd ed., 3v, 2015
  • Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History, 2v, 1999
  • Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. History: Government and Politics, 2v, 2008
  • Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. History: War, 2v, 2008
  • Gale Encyclopedia of World History: Governments, 2v, 2008
  • Gale Encyclopedia of World History: War, 2v, 2008
  • Global Events: Milestone Events Throughout History, 6v, 2014
  • Groundbreaking Scientific Experiments, Inventions, and Discoveries of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance2004
  • Immigrants in American History: Arrival, Adaptation, and Integration, 4v, 2013
  • New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, 6v, 2005
  • Presidential Campaigns, Slogans, Issues, and Platforms: The Complete Encyclopedia, 3v, 2012
  • The Sixties in America Reference Library, 4v, 2005
  • St. James Encyclopedia of Labor History Worldwide, 2v, 2003
  • St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture, 5v, 2000
  • Supreme Court Drama: Cases That Changed America, 2nd ed., 5v, 2011
  • The Vietnam War, 2011
  • Women's Rights in the United States: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Issues, Events, and People, 4v, 2015
  • Business Leader Profiles for Students, 2v, 1999
  • Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography, 27v, 2008
  • Encyclopedia of World Biography Vol. 34: Supplement A-Z, 2nd ed., 2014
  • UXL Encyclopedia of World Biography, 10v, 2003