Skip to main content

Paralegal: 7. Encyclopedias

library resources

Find books and articles

Library catalog Use the Cuyamaca College Library Catalog. to find books in print, e-books and articles.

Keep in mind that many treatises & practice guides include forms even if they do not have the word “forms” in their titles. Also be on the lookout for titles that include the words “agreements” or “documents” or “samples.” Often practice guides which include the words “Manual” or “Handbook” in the title will offer sample forms as well.

Enclyclopedias in print at Cuyamaca College Library

  • Summary of California Law (Witkin) Current subscription
    16 volume treatise that represents a summary statement of California law. Includes references to statutory and case law, law reviews, and other secondary sources.
    Law KFC 80 W5 lawshelf
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law Current subscription
    Explains legal terms and concepts in everyday language through nearly 5,000 entries devoted to terms, concepts, events, movements, cases, and persons significant to U.S. law.
    KF154 .W47 2011 V.1 lawshelf 
    2013 is an e-book. Go to the Library catalog, type in this title.
     
  • Corpus Juris Secundum (Law KF 154 C6) instructional use only
    CC Library has CJS volumes that explain legal principles and doctrine that apply throughout the United States. The source and focus is almost exclusively on case law. Statutes and regulations and historical interpretations are seldom included. Published in over 150 volumes and includes over 450 individual articles. Includes separate indexes for all cited cases, rules and regulations 
    Law KF 154 C6 
    ​Law 
    KF 145 C56 (volumes 1-101a.) 
    Law KF 145 C56 ( general indexes A-Z)

Enclyclopedia websites

  • Wex   (Cornell Law School. Legal Information Institute) Collaboratively-edited legal dictionary and encyclopedia intended for "law novices". Includes definitions from Nolo’s Plain-English Law Dictionary. Many encyclopedia entries include a "Resources' tab to statutes, regulations, judicial decisions, key Internet resources and important secondary sources