Skip to main content

Cuyamaca Library: Mission & Program Review

WIKI

Here is link to WIKI. CDI- Wiki

CDI management in Alma determines which providers/databases are activated for search in Primo. It takes the place of the Ex Libris Primo Central Activation Wizard. 

There are two settings: Fully Flexible and Easy Active. We will use Fully Flexible, which is the default. Apparently, if you change to Easy Active (through request to Ex Libris), there is no going back.
CDI is activated in Alma for NA05 July 2020 Final cutover will happen at the end of August 2020.

----------

 

YouTube videoWebEx recording or a PDF file

  • Introduction (0:00)
  • CDI Enablement (0:32)
    • Single Activation in Alma (2:09)
    • PC to Alma move – mapping rules & activation report (6:24)
    • Search Activation (10:25)
    • Full-text Activation (13:24)
  • Best practices – after CDI enablement (17:35)
    • ‘Active for full text in CDI only’ status (22:22)
    • Do I need to change/remove the CDI-only full text activation? (24:02)
    • Un-suppress bib record – for database types of collections (26:02)
    • Activate service and portfolios – for Selective/Aggregator (26:48)
    • Two active collections (27:25)
    • Open Access collections (35:55)
  • Best practices – general (39:16)
    • Which activations to activate for search in CDI
    • How to activate collections for search in CDI (41:04)
    • Using the “Do not show as Full Text available in CDI even if active” (Suppress from CDI) option (43:22)
    • Handling duplicate eBooks in CDI results (46:02)
    • Changes in Alma to improve Ebook handling
  • Documentation and Support (50:55)

 

 

CDI FAQs

Searching:

Full-text:

  • No need to mark yes to "Active for search in CDI" for full-text aggregator content because it's automatically searched unless you explicitly mark it no. Activate an aggregator database for full-text, it will be automatically searchable, you don't have to also mark it "active for search in CDI" but it doesn't hurt to do that. It will happen automatically in activation wizard.
  • Is it necessary to mark yes to "Active for search in CDI" for other types of content, ex: Database? Or is all content, collections of all type, automatically included in Primo VE search results if activated in Alma, unless explicitly marked "Do not show as Full Text available in CDI even if active in Alma"? Anything marked full text is active for unexpanded search. The search comes from the CDI metadata index - not from specific collections.

Alternate coverage:
SUNY recommends keeping PCI EBSCO alternative coverage packages active for searching. Campuses have already started asking why they need to keep these packages active if everything that's full-text is covered for searching.  You do not need to keep alternative access databases active to make EBSCO content discoverable. Anything full-text, including EBSCO, will be searchable via the CDI metadata Index. However, if you would like to search your PCI "alternative coverage" databases in your expanded search, you can keep them active for search.


Expanded searching:
If expanded searching indexing includes all of the full-text indexing, (your Basecamp post said that expanded searching was full-text index + any additional activated search collections) which is the entire Central Discovery Index, why do we have to activate any other packages for searching? I'm specifically asking about packages for which we don't have full-text. Use case: campus had Proquest Religion Database active for search in PCI for alternative coverage, package was moved into Alma and set up for Active for Search in PCI. If the entire Central Discovery Index is active for search in expanded searching, why should the campus leave the Proquest Religion Database active? If you don't activate any databases for searching besides what you have full-text, your unexpanded search and your expanded search will give you the same results. You can only add results for non-full-text content by activating other collections for search.
If something like Hathitrust is being used for indexing for full-text content, and we can't control that, is there any way to get it out of indexing for expanded content? If it's part of the full-text indexing, which is part of expanded searching, can we get rid of it? Many campuses won't want that level of reference entry detail in their expanded search. EL will look into changing Hathitrust searching from full-text to metadata searching, which could decrease the number of search results you get. This won't happen right away, would be a couple of months. SUNY agrees that chapter level and article level searching is useful, but not full-text searching, especially for Hathitrust books where a search term might only appear once in a 300 page book.

Is the only way to remove something from expanded searching to add it to Alma for searching only, then mark it no for "active for search"? The system works in reverse to this - you can only get a non-full-text collection active for searching by activating it for search. You can't control how full-text is searched.
Can we tell if some collections are being searched in full text and some just metadata records and if we have any choice/control over that? Labels are inconsistent and EL will work on that.

Marc Records

I remain concerned that this is a regression in functionality/bug. Previously, we could fully choose which MARC records to display or suppress for all Electronic Collections. Now, to activate CDI link-in-record database collections, we must display their MARC records. This will provide a poorer end user experience (as users will be exposed to undesired MARC records). It will interrupt the consistency of our processes. Moreover, we will have extra work maintaining MARC records we never wanted to expose to users in the first place.

 

I ask Ex Libris to strongly consider decoupling visibility of MARC record from activation of CDI database link-in-record collections. Setting the CDI search activation status to "Active" should be all that is necessary to make these collections active for search.

Local Collections:

Can you search the bib records in local collections? Yes, should work the same as with Alma/PCI
Do local collections allow article-level searching, or not because they're local and not part of the CDI? Note: article-level searching currently works for local collections with PCI indexing. This should work the same way - if it's not, please report and EL will explore
If you can't search them at the article level, will they show up as available on article index records from the CDI, based on their ISSN or other metadata? Will work the same way they do with Alma/PCI
Will they show up in the View Online section like they do now in the PCI? Yes

Availability:

Will the "on-the-fly" look-up of availability on the full record work the same in the CDI as it does for the PCI, usually based on ISSN or ISBN match? Yes, still based on ISSN/ISBN
Why are some available things showing as available and then when you open the full record, the link is either missing or doesn’t work? Need to review after fixes and report problems.

Facets

Will the Alma and CDI facets match up? Or will we still have Alma e-Books in Books while CDI eBook records show as eBooks? Also, video vs. videos. CDI facet for eBooks will be books, if it's not, please report and EL will investigate. Video and Videos won't match, but they'll send us documentation on how to make them match.

eBooks

Can we replicate current PCI practices where we can search the Alma bib record (title, author, etc.) for eBook collections but not search by article/reference entry? It sounds like this will be possible if we put eBooks in a local collection with no article/reference entry indexing, but then we have the questions about local collection fulfillment. No. It's either bib record and contents searching or no searching.

I also dislike having to lose chapter indexing to avoid duplicate ebook records. I think the two ebook records (local and CDI) should merge in the display either through deduping or FRBRization. And, though I appreciate adding the ability to prefer a record type to display and index in Primo, I wish this feature could be enabled at the collection level and not globally.

 

Link Display:

Will the labels for links in the View Online area of records be updated to display the specific collections? Currently, we are seeing many records in the CDI with generic label "View record" and no helpful identification of source being linked to. They're working on this - known issue

Some additional questions that we're waiting for answers to in Ex Libris CDI Basecamp:

Why isn't network activation for searching working correctly? (not inheriting, bib records for collection level showing in everyone's PCI and CDI search)
Why are newspaper results showing if you've set up a separate newspaper search?
How will CDI affect scopes like the PCI articles scope? Will chapters now show in Book/Catalog scopes?