Skip to main content

Chicano/Chicana History: Searching for Books in the Library collection

Research Guide for History 118 and 119

Searching for Books in the Cuyamaca Library Collection

Classic Catalog - i.e. original online catalog, searches items in Cuyamaca's physical (hard copy) collection, including books, videos, maps, etc. Grossmont's holdings may also be searched. 

In addition, the library catalog offers access to most eBooks in Cuyamaca's collection, including some holdings in EBSCO eBook Collection, Springer eBooks, and the Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL).

Library's Ebook Collections can also be searched individually

EBSCO eBook Collection - Entire e-book can be checkout to any device.
See "How can I download and read EBSCO eBooks on my mobile device?"

Springer eBooks - Allows multiple readers at one time. May print without limits and transfer clean PDFs to a desktop, any e-reader device, a flash drive, or even e-mail, without restriction.

Gale Virtual Reference Library -  Contains specialized and content specific reference books written by subject expects.

Selected Search Terms

Suggested subject headings to search for books and/or e-books in the Classic Catalog

For Chicanos -- Use Mexican Americans or Mexican American
For Chicanas -- Use Mexican American women
For Latinos (United States) -- Use Hispanic Americans or Hispanic American
For Latinas (United States) -- Use Hispanic American women

Other suggested subject headings to use when searching for books
Chicano Movement
Civilization, Hispanic
Hispanic Influences