Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books on Ethnobotany of California/North America Native Americans in the Cuyamaca Library
Santa Ysabel Ethnobotany by
Call Number: E 78 C15 E8 V.20
Publication Date: San Diego Museum of Man, 1986.
book produced in collaboration with Christina Beresford ; drawings by Rose Christensen.
The Ethnobotany of the California Indians by
Call Number: E 78 C15 M4 2003
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
The Ethnobotany of the California Indians is a compilation of 1,100 plants listed in alphabetic order by the scientific name. For each listing, depending upon the available literature, are sub-headings that note by tribe, how the plant was utilized: Food; Material; Medicine; and Miscellaneous. In addition, if available, there are sections listing the native terminology as well as Notes covering such things as food value, hazardous properties, etc. For each section there is a list of publications cited. In addition there is a Reference section and four appendices: Tribal Listing by Plant; Ornithography; Synonyms (of plants); and a Glossary.
A Handbook of Native American Herbs by
Call Number: E 98 B7 H87 1992
Publication Date: 1992-11-10
This authoritative guide--based on the author's classic reference work, Indian Herbalogy of North America --is a portable illustrated companion for the professional and amateur herbalist alike. It provides detailed descriptions of 125 of the most useful medicinal plants commonly found in North America, along with directions for a range of uses, remedies for common ailments, and notes on the herbal traditions of other lands. Entries include staples of folk medicine such as echinacea and slippery elm as well as common kitchen herbs--such as parsley, thyme, and pepper--whose tonic and healing properties are less widely known.
Chumash Ethnobotany : plant knowledge among the Chumash people of southern California by
Call Number: E 99 .C815 T56 2007
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
From islands off the shore of Santa Barbara to the chaparral-covered mountains of the dry inland regions, the land of the Chumash is a storehouse of plants, an area of great biological richness and variety. Living intimately within this land for more than nine thousand years, the Chumash developed an intense and sophisticated relationship with the plants around them. They collected and processed nuts, seeds, berries, roots, leaves, twigs, shoots, and wood from which they created practically everything they needed to live, from medicines to weapons to decorative items. Covering both historical and contemporary use of plants, this book-the result of three decades of research in archives and among native people-celebrates more than just the variety of plants; it celebrates the resourcefulness and ingenuity of the people who have always known them best. Book jacket.
Diegueño curing practices by
Call Number: E 99 D5 A42 1977 (2 copies)
Publication Date: San Diego Museum of Man, 1977.
Contains "Index to plant names": p. 31-33.
Delfina Cuero : her autobiography, an account of her last years, and her ethnobotanic contributions by
Call Number: E 99 D5 C84 1991 (2 copies)
Publication Date: 1991-10-01
This book contains not only the autobiography that Apodaca reviewed, but also Shipek’s account of the rest of Delfina’s life, and her ethnographic notes. Shipek has organized data gathered in two ethnobotanical field trips into the format of an ethnobotany. This book has become a classic, a favorite of teachers and their students, as well as of the general public.
Ethnobotany : a reader by
Call Number: GN 476.73 E83 2000
Publication Date: 2000-05-15
This reader in ethnobotany includes fourteen chapters organized in four parts. Paul Minnis provides a general introduction; the authors of the section introductions are Catherine S. Foeler (ethnoecology), Cecil H. Brown (folk classification), Timothy Jones (foods and medicines), and Richard I. Ford (agriculture). Ethnobotany: A Reader is intended for use as a textbook in upper division undergraduate and graduate courses in economic botany, ethnobotany, and human ecology. The book brings together for the first time previously published journal articles that provide diverse perspectives on a wide variety of topics in ethnobotany. Contributors include: Janis B. Alcorn, M. Kat Anderson, Stephen B. Brush, Robert A. Bye, George F. Estabrook, David H. French, Eugene S. Hunn, Charles F. Hutchinson, Eric Mellink, Paul E. Minnis, Brian Morris, Gary P. Nabhan, Amadeo M. Rea, Karen L. Reichhardt, Jan Timbrook, Nancy J. Turner, and Robert A. Voeks.
Ethnobotany : a methods manual by
Call Number: GN 476.73 M37 2004
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Ethnobotany, the study of the classification, use and management of plants by people, draws on a range of disciplines, including natural and social sciences, to show how conservation of plants and of local knowledge about them can be achieved. Ethnobotany is critical to the growing importance of developing new crops and products such as drugs from traditional plants. This book is the basic introduction to the field, showing how botany, anthropology, ecology, economics and linguistics are all employed in the techniques and methods involved. It explains data collection and hypothesis testing and provides practical ideas on fieldwork ethics and the application of results to conservation and community development. Case studies illustrate the explanations, demonstrating the importance of collaboration in achieving results. Published with WWF, UNESCO and Royal Botanic Gardens Kew.
Ethnobotany of the California Indians by
Call Number: Ref E 78 C15 E83 1994 Volumes 1 & 2
Publication Date: 1994-01-01
NOTE: Library has a second set that can be checked-out: E 78 C15 E83 1994 Volumes 1 & 2. This 2-volume set is an encyclopedia of California's native plants that were used by the earliest inhabitants in the state. In volume 2, the plants are listed alphabetically by genus and the uses for each plant are noted. The basic categories of plant uses are as food, medicine, basketry, dye, or other miscellaneous goods such as tools, clothing, weapons, etc.. The author cautions that this work is not intended to be a "how-to book", as many of the plants have toxic properties. An alphabetical list, by name, of the various Indigenous groups is also included. Each group's geographic territories are described, including an estimate of each group's population at the time of European contact. Volume 1 includes a brief introduction to the subject of ethnobotany, as well as a very basic primer to the history of California's Native Peoples. An enumerative bibliography is included that provides a systematic list of books and other works such as journal articles that might be useful for further research into the earliest Californians and their use of native plants as implements to improve their manners of living.