Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CUYAMACA LIBRARY: mission, goals, PLOs

Cuyamaca Library Program Review Goals 2018-2022

The CC library’s mission is modeled directly after the College’s Strategic Plan with outcomes that flow from the same four strategic elements: acceleration, guided pathways, student engagement and organizational health. 

To achieve this mission, CC Library commits to these goals:

Goal 1: LIBRARY INSTRUCTION - Integrate information literacy instruction and resources into acceleration programs and guided pathways initiatives.

Goal 2: LIBRARY TECHNOLOGY - Investigate and evaluate new emerging library technologies for effective discovery of information.

Goal 3: LIBRARY COLLECTIONS - Integrate library collections into academic programs and guided pathways initiatives.

Goal 4: LIBRARY SERVICES & SPACES - Improve circulation services, technical services, and library spaces that allow students to study and research.

Goals and action plans and outcomes

Goal 1: LIBRARY INSTRUCTION
Integrate information literacy instruction into acceleration programs and guided pathways initiatives. (Strategic Plan 1,2)

How does this goal support Strategic Plan 2017+?
Accomplishment of this goal will result in information literate students who can determine the extent of information needed, access information effectively, critically evaluate information sources. Students have the information literacy skills they need to complete course assignments. Students make use of librarian faculty and staff expertise

What projects will be used to achieve this goal?
1. Integrate information literacy instruction into the curriculum.
     a. Offer face2face library instruction sessions
     b. Offer online embedded library instruction modules for specific courses
     c. Offer reference desk instruction during library opening hours
 2. Online and embedded resources
     a. Embed library instruction and assignments into courses.
     b. Create research guides and embed in the CANVAS link called Library Resources.
     c. Create video tutorials and embed in the CANVAS link called Library Resources
3. Librarian-liaison program.  
     a. Proactively contact faculty to promote integrated library instruction into their courses.
     

What is the target or desired outcome?

1. Library instruction: Students in targeted courses who attend library instruction sessions will develop information literacy skills.
2. Embedded library instruction . Students in target courses who view embedded library instruction will develop information literacy skills
2. Online and embedded resources: Faculty and students will use Library website, video tutorials, and research guides.
3. Librarian liaison program. Faculty will view library liaisons as vital partners for collaboration on grants and curriculum development.

How will you assess how well this goal was achieved (performance indicators or student learning)?
Librarian and faculty feedback on the effectiveness of integrating library instruction into courses.
Faculty feedback on the effectiveness of  library website, research guides, tutorials.
Librarian and student feedback on the effectiveness of student learning after receiving instruction from the refrence desk 

 

Goal 2: LIBRARY TECHNOLOGY
Investigate and evaluate new emerging library technologies for effective discovery of information

How does this goal support Strategic Plan 2017+?
Accomplishment of this goal will result
will provide virtual access to information resources, educating users about new content, format and access options.We will put into place technological solutions to help our students locate and retrieve information quickly and efficiently.

What projects  will be used to achieve this goal?

We will revise the library website so it is up-to-date, easy to navigate, and visually compelling.
We will identify new commercial databases that make searching for resources easier for students.
We will maintain the online catalog to ensure students have easy access to print, reserve, and e-collections.

What is the target or desired outcome?

Students will have easy access to all library services and collections via the library website, library catalog and library databases

How will you assess how well this goal was achieved (performance indicators or student learning)?

Librarians will meet annually to discuss effectiveness of library technology based on their observations of student usage on the following technology areas:

1. Evaluate online delivery modules to determine currency, applicability, and use
2. Evaluate  library website usage and navigation points.
3. Evaluate commercial databases for relevancy to curriculum and courses. 

4. Evaluate online catalog to ensure students have easy access to print, reserve, and e-collections.
 

GOAL 3. LIBRARY COLLECTIONS
Integrate library collections into academic programs and guided pathway initiatives

How does this goal support the Strategic Plan 2017+? 
Students will have a library collection sufficient in quality, depth, diversity, format and currency to support their research.

What action plans will be used to achieve this goal?

1 We will promote reserve collection to that contributes to lowering cost of attending college.
2. We will maintain and upgrade library catalog records.
3. We will conduct an inventory of print materials to determine whether there is a large discrepancy between the library’s actual holdings and its catalog records.
4. We will conduct an annual stack maintenance project to determine condition of physical items, track overdue items, identify missing items.
5. We will provide interlibrary loan to give student access to materials not owned by the Library.

How will you assess how well this goal was achieved (performance indicators or student learning)?

1. Technicians to evaluate use of reserve collection that contributes to lowering cost of attending college.
2. Librarians and Technicians to evaluate library catalog records.
3. Technicians to evaluate inventory of print materials to determine whether there is a large discrepancy between the library’s actual holdings and its catalog records.
4. Technicians to evaluate annual stack maintenance project to determine condition of physical items, track overdue items, identify missing items.
5. We will provide interlibrary loan to give student access to materials not owned by the Library.

Goal 4: LIBRARY SERVICES & SPACES
Improve library circulation services, technical services and library spaces that promote student study and research.

How does this goal support the Strategic Plan 2017+? 
      To provide successful programs and services, CC Library relies heavily on our multi-media technicians that operate “behind the scenes” to ensure access to library spaces and sources. They provide the work and expertise to acquire sources, process sources, maintain the online catalog records, and maintain required statistics.
     
Circulation and Technical Services is defined as units responsible for the following:

  • Circulation (lending and borrowing) services,
  • Interlibrary services,
  • Course Reserves

What projects will be used to achieve this goal? 

1. Multi-media technicians explain various library policies and services to students to ensure that all students have equitable access to library collections and to ensure standards for proper use of library materials.
3. Multi-media technicians and Librarians to evaluate library’s existing space to create a welcoming environment condusive to study and research.

What is the target or desired outcome?
1. Library spaces will be condusive to student study and research
2. Identify and develop data and statistics, and assessment and discussion of findings in order to continuously improve library’s resources, services, and staff.(internal reports, not PLO)

How will you assess how well this goal was achieved (key performance indicators or student learning)?
1.  Analyze statistics in order to continuously improve library’s resources, services, and staff.(internal reports, not PLO)

Program Review ​requests submitted Feb 2018