Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cuyamaca Library: Mission & Program Review

GOAL 3: LIBRARY COLLECTIONS at Cuyamaca Library

INTRODUCTION
One of our Program Review 2018-2022 goal is to investigate and evaluate new emerging library technologies for effective discovery of information (goal 3). Collection Development is defined as the planned purchase of materials in various formats to match the research needs of the students. Most materials selected for quality, depth and currency are based on librarian interactions with students at the reference desk, librarian experience with course assignments, and librarian collaborations with faculty, and Board approved Curriculum changes. Final decisions regarding additions to the collection remain with the Faculty librarians.  

CIRCULATION AND TECHNICAL SERVICES
To provide successful programs and services, CC Library relies heavily on our multi-media technicians that operate “behind the scenes” to ensure access to library sources. Circulation services refers to student lending and borrowing services, Interlibrary services, and Course Reserves. Technical Services refers to the work unit that has been responsible for acquisitions of collection materials and copy-cataloging them for discovery and retrieval.

 

GOAL 3- LIBRARY COLLECTIONS: Database evaluation reports

Librarians select databases for CC students. Databases are a priority purchase at Cuyamaca Library and it is important to evaluate our database holdings to meet student research needs.

Selection or de-selection of library databases is initiated by the librarian after evaluating: 1) student research assignments, 2) discipline curriculum modifications , and 3) knowledge of the existing collection, 4) feedback from faculty and faculty librarians.  Based on evaluation, librarian makes the decision to renew or not renew databases.

GOAL 3 - LIBRARY COLLECTIONS: De-selection of print and media materials from collection

Librarians evaluate usage after reviewing curriculum changes.