Skip to main content

Stateless People: Gale Virtual Reference Library

Resources for 'Stateless People' assignment for HIST 101: Modern World History

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) contains specialized content in specific reference books written by subject expects.

Please Note: Remote access is available to all the online resources (i.e. e-books and periodical databases). 
To log in to the library's online resources, use the same user name and password authentication that is used to access the campus WiFi.

Basques

Below are links to reference articles on the Basques found in GVRL.

  • "Basques." Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life. Ed. Timothy L. Gall and Jeneen Hobby. 2nd ed. Vol. 5: Europe. Detroit: Gale, 2009. 65-69. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 13 July 2016.
  • Douglass, William A. "Basques." Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Vol. 1: North America. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 1996. 31-35.
  • Douglass, William A. "Basques." Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Vol. 4: Europe. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 1996. 29-32.
  • Raento, Pauliina. "Basque Country." Nations and Nationalism: A Global Historical Overview. Ed. Guntram H. Herb and David H. Kaplan. Vol. 4: 1989 to Present. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2008. 1512-1524.
  • Shostak, Elizabeth. "Basque Americans." Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America. Ed. Jeffrey Lehman. 2nd ed. Vol. 1. Detroit: Gale, 2000. 206-218.
  • Shostak, Elizabeth. "Basque Americans." Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America. Ed. Thomas Riggs. 3rd ed. Vol. 1. Detroit: Gale, 2014. 251-264.

Chaldeans

Below are links to reference articles on the Chaldeans found in GVRL.

  • Farah, Caesar E. "Chaldeans." Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Vol. 9: Africa and the Middle East. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 1996. 63-65.
  • Sengstock, Mary C., and Sanaa Taha Al Harahsheh. "Chaldean Americans." Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America. Ed. Thomas Riggs. 3rd ed. Vol. 1. Detroit: Gale, 2014. 441-452.
  • Sengstock, Mary C. "Chaldean Americans." Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America. Ed. Jeffrey Lehman. 2nd ed. Vol. 1. Detroit: Gale, 2000. 355-361.

Kurds

Below are links to reference articles on the Kurds found in GVRL.

  • Aristova, T. F., and David Testen. "Kurds." Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Vol. 6: Russia and Eurasia/China. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 1996. 224-227.
  • Busby, Annette. "Kurds." Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Vol. 9: Africa and the Middle East. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 1996. 174-177.
  • Hassanpour, Amir. "Kurds." Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity. Ed. Dinah L. Shelton. Vol. 2. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2005. 632-637.
  • "Kurds." Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life. Ed. Timothy L. Gall and Jeneen Hobby. 2nd ed. Vol. 3: Asia & Oceania. Detroit: Gale, 2009. 518-522.
  • "Prejudice in Iraq: Shiítes, Sunni, and Kurds." Prejudice in the Modern World Reference Library. Vol. 2: Almanac. Detroit: UXL, 2007. 279-295.

Gypsies - Romanies

Below are links to reference articles on the Gypsies - Romanies found in GVRL.

  • Crowe, David, N. G. Demeter, and Alaina Lemon. "Gypsies." Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Vol. 6: Russia and Eurasia/China. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 1996. 145-148.
  • Heimlich, Evan. "Gypsy Americans." Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America. Ed. Jeffrey Lehman. 2nd ed. Vol. 2. Detroit: Gale, 2000. 793-804.
  • Heimlich, Evan. "Romani Americans." Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America. Ed. Thomas Riggs. 3rd ed. Vol. 4. Detroit: Gale, 2014. 1-13.
  • Lockwood, William G. "Gypsies." Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia. Ed. Ken Albala. Vol. 4: Europe. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood, 2011. 171-179.
  • Salo, Matt T., and Sheila Salo. "Gypsies." Dictionary of American History. Ed. Stanley I. Kutler. 3rd ed. Vol. 4. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2003. 78-79.
  • Silverman, Carol. "Bulgarian Gypsies." Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Vol. 4: Europe. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 1996. 40-42.
  • Stewart, Michael. "Vlach Gypsies of Hungary." Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Vol. 4: Europe. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 1996. 270-273.
  • Willems, Wim, and Leo Lucassen. "Gypsies and Caravan Dwellers in the Netherlands." Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Vol. 4: Europe. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 1996. 136-138.

Maori

Below are links to reference articles on the Maori found in GVRL.

  • Jaffe, Kelila. "Māori." Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia. Ed. Ken Albala. Vol. 3: Asia and Oceania. Santa Barbara, CA: Greenwood, 2011. 169-173.
  • Latham, Christopher. "Maori." Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Vol. 2: Oceania. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 1996. 176-179. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 13 July 2016.
  • "Maori." Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life. Ed. Timothy L. Gall and Jeneen Hobby. 2nd ed. Vol. 4: Asia & Oceania. Detroit: Gale, 2009. 619-622.
  • "Maori Migration in New Zealand." World History Encyclopedia. Ed. Alfred J. Andrea and Carolyn Neel. Vol. 15: Era 7: The Age of Revolutions, 1750-1914. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2011. 339-341.
  • Meijl, Toon van. "Maori Nationalism." Nations and Nationalism: A Global Historical Overview. Ed. Guntram H. Herb and David H. Kaplan. Vol. 4: 1989 to Present. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2008. 1855-1863.

Modern Mayas

Below are links to reference articles on the Modern Mayas found in GVRL.

  • Gasco, Janine. "Tz'utujil." Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture. Ed. Jay Kinsbruner and Erick D. Langer. 2nd ed. Vol. 6. Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2008. 161.
  • Hofling, Charles Andrew, and Norman B. Schwartz. "Itza'." Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Vol. 8: Middle America and the Caribbean. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 1996. 132-135.
  • Hong, Maria. "Guatemalan Americans." Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America. Ed. Jeffrey Lehman. 2nd ed. Vol. 2. Detroit: Gale, 2000. 764-782.
  • "Maya." Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life. Ed. Timothy L. Gall and Jeneen Hobby. 2nd ed. Vol. 2: Americas. Detroit: Gale, 2009. 355-359.
  • "The Zapatista Uprising Begins in Chiapas, Mexico." Global Events: Milestone Events Throughout History. Ed. Jennifer Stock. Vol. 3: Central and South America. Farmington Hills, MI: Gale, 2014. 395-398.

Palestinians

Below are links to reference articles on the Palestinians found in GVRL.

  • Kurson, Ken. "Palestinian Americans." Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America. Ed. Jeffrey Lehman. 2nd ed. Vol. 3. Detroit: Gale, 2000. 1400-1411.
  • "Palestinian Diaspora." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. Ed. William A. Darity, Jr. 2nd ed. Vol. 6. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2008. 107-110.
  • "Palestinians." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. Ed. William A. Darity, Jr. 2nd ed. Vol. 6. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2008. 111-112.
  • "Palestinians." Prejudice in the Modern World Reference Library. Vol. 4: Primary Sources. Detroit: UXL, 2007. 63-74. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Web. 13 July 2016.
  • Talhami, Ghada Hashem. "Palestinians." Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Vol. 9: Africa and the Middle East. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 1996. 262-267.

Roma - Sinti

Below are links to reference articles on the Roma - Sinti found in GVRL.

  • Clark, Colin. "Roma." Encyclopedia of Race and Racism. Ed. Patrick L. Mason. 2nd ed. Vol. 3. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2013. 510-512.
  • Formoso, Bernard. "Piemontese Sinti." Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Vol. 4: Europe. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 1996. 199-201.
  • Piasere, Leonardo. "Slovensko Roma." Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Vol. 4: Europe. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 1996. 249-251
  • Piasere, Leonardo. "Xoraxané Romá." Encyclopedia of World Cultures. Vol. 4: Europe. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 1996. 281-283.
  • "Roma, The." International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. Ed. William A. Darity, Jr. 2nd ed. Vol. 7. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2008. 277-279.
  • "Roma." Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life. Ed. Timothy L. Gall and Jeneen Hobby. 2nd ed. Vol. 5: Europe. Detroit: Gale, 2009. 394-404.