Automotive Technology: Library Guide

Automotive Chassis System, 6/e is organized around the ASE automobile test content area for Brakes (A5) and Suspension and Steering (A4). Featuring complete coverage of parts, operation, design, and troubleshooting techniques, it correlates material to task lists specified by ASE and NATEF and emphasizes a diagnostic approach throughout. Chapter features include Tech Tips, Diagnostic Stories, High-Performance Tips, Frequently Asked Questions and more.   This book is part of the Pearson Automotive Professional Technician Series, which provides full-color, media-integrated solutions for today's students and instructors covering all eight areas of ASE certification, plus additional titles covering common courses. Peer reviewed for technical accuracy, the series and the books in it represent the future of automotive textbooks.

This book is part of the Pearson Automotive Professional Technician Series and is designed to be a two-semester text and covers the fundamental, as well as, the advanced electrical topics taught in all schools and colleges that teach automotive electricity and electronics.   Automotive Electricity and Electronics, 5th Edition, provides complete coverage of the parts, operation, design, and troubleshooting of automotive electricity and electronics systems, as well as the practical skills that students must master to be successful in the industry. Real examples and full colour images throughout the text offer readers a practical approach to the diagnosis and repair of the NATEF tasks for the Automotive Electricity/Electronic Systems (A6) content area. Formatted to appeal to today's technical trade students, Halderman uses helpful tips to bring concepts to life and guide students through the procedures they'll use on the job.

Careers in Technical Services & Equipment Repair.The Careers series is designed to cater high school and undergraduate college students as well as those searching for a new career, whether in the same field or a completely unrelated one. These titles examine the thriving industries and the exact careers where job seekers can excel and help them make the best decision on which career path or area of study to pursue. Careers in Technical Services & Equipment Repair a current overview and a future outlook of specific occupations in the technology and equipment maintenance industries. Careers in Technical Services & Equipment Repair examines more than 30 fields in the technology and equipment maintenance field such as: Aircraft Mechanic Computer Service Technician Laser Technician Home Appliance Repair Robotic Technician Industrial Machinery Mechanic Engineering Technician Nuclear Medicine Technologist Telecommunications Equipment Repair Plus much more! Each chapter includes detailed information on Education and Coursework, Daily Tasks, Earnings and Employment Outlook, Related Occupations, and advice from Real Professionals.

The renowned design writer on the extraordinary history of car design. In this lively and entertaining work, Witold Rybczynski--hailed as "one of the best writers on design working today" by Publishers Weekly--tells the story of the most distinctive cars in history and the artists, engineers, dreamers, and gearheads who created them. Delving into more than 170 years of ingenuity in design, technology, and engineering, he takes us from Carl Benz's three-wheel motorcar in 1855 to the present-day shift to electric cars. Along the way, he looks at the emergence of mass production with Henry Ford's Model T; the Golden Age of American car design and the rise of car culture; postwar European subcompacts typified by the Mini Cooper; and the long tradition of the streamlined and elegant sports car. Rybczynski explores how cars have been reflections of national character (the charming Italian Fiat Cinquecento), icons of a subculture (the VW bus for American hippies), and even emblems of an era (the practical Chrysler minivan). He explains key developments in automotive technology, including the electric starter, rack-and-pinion steering, and disc brakes, bringing to light how the modern automobile is the result of more than a century of trial and error. And he weaves in charming accounts of the many cars he's owned and driven, starting with his first--the iconic Volkswagen Beetle. The Driving Machine is a breezy and fascinating history of design, illustrated with the author's delightful drawings.

Everything you need to know to run a profitable and satisfying car detailing business from your home

Prepare tomorrow's automotive professionals for success. Hybrid and Alternative Fuel Vehicles, 4/e is the ideal text for a modern service technician's course on hybrid electric vehicles. It combines essential background information with up-to-date, vehicle-specific information on the latest makes. Presented in a full-color format with over 60 new photos and line drawings to bring the concepts alive, plus helpful tips to guide students through the procedures they'll use on the job, the book covers the Chevrolet Volt, Tesla, and Nissan Leaf; the Buick LaCrosse mild hybrid; two-mode operation and transmission operation; high-voltage and auxiliary battery locations; the SAE J1772 electric vehicle plug; Level 1, 2 and 3 charging stations; and the latest alternative fuels. It also covers both engine performance (ASE A8 content) and advanced engine performance (ASE L1 content), enabling instructors to teach both ASE areas without requiring separate texts. To keep your course current, all of the content is correlated to the latest NATEF tasks and ASE areas; all of the chapters are updated with the latest technology; and new chapters are included on oxygenated fuels; propane, CNG, LNG, and synthetic fuels; and electric and plug-in electric vehicles. New information has been added on HV battery testing using a scan tool and procedures for HV battery reconditioning added to Auxiliary and High-Voltage Batteries, and two new appendixes include a new sample ASE-type certification test for Hybrid/Electric Vehicle Specialist (L3) and an updated NATEF correlation chart for hybrid electric vehicles tasks. This book is part of the Pearson Automotive Professional Technician Series, which features full-color, media-integrated solutions for today's students and instructors covering all eight areas of ASE certification, plus additional titles covering common courses. Peer reviewed for technical accuracy, the series and the books in it represent the future of automotive textbooks.

Save time and hundreds of dollars by learning how to repair and overhaul your car's brakes. There are many automotive tasks that are best left to qualified and certified professionals when considering repairing your automobile. There are also many tasks that can be tackled by the weekend do-it-yourselfer with a decent level of instruction. While just about any system repair or overhaul on more modern cars has gotten more complex over time, brake diagnosis and repair is still well within reach for the home mechanic with a reasonable set of hand tools. In Brake Repair: How to Diagnose, Fix, or Replace Your Car's Brakes Step-By-Step, ASE technician and professional instructor Steven Cartwright takes you through the entire process of servicing your car's brakes to like-new condition. Ten informative chapters cover everything you will need to know, including chapters on brake history, an overview of function, types of brakes, power assist, troubleshooting, electronic controls such as ABS, and finally, a complete chapter showing you how to do an entire brake job in step-by-step color photos. With traditional dealership labor rates hovering around $125 per hour these days, it is easy for a standard four-wheel disc brake job to cost close to $1,000 when all is said and done. With the help of this book, you will be able to competently and confidently complete the task in similar fashion for less than half the cost, paying for this book many times over the very first time you use it. Add this valuable tool to your library today.

The photos in this edition are black and white. There comes a time in every automobile's life when the engine just doesn't perform as it should anymore. It may be burning oil, it may be leaking, the compression may be so low that it only starts on cold days, or maybe it just isn't very efficient anymore. When all of this happens, you have to decide whether to just dump the car and replace it, or add some new life to your old car by rebuilding the engine. Rebuilding the engine in any used car, much less a classic, seems like a much more attractive option when you can save a lot of money by doing it yourself. Sometimes the savings are the difference between keeping your car or letting it go. If you want to keep you car running strong and lasting for years, this is the book for you. A part of CarTech's Workbench Series, How to Rebuild Any Automotive Engine covers the basics of any engine rebuild in more than 400 photos of step-by-step instruction. Subjects covered include preparation and tool requirements, engine removal, engine disassembly, machine work and clean-up, short-block assembly, final engine assembly, installation, start-up, and break in. Also visited are the options of purchasing crate engines, remanufactured engines, and performance upgrades. This book applies to all cars on the road that feature an internal combustion engine. Spend a little on this book and save hundreds of dollars down the road.

Technical instructor and HVAC expert Jerry Clemons completely covers both air-conditioning as well as heating systems, so you can save money repairing your own vehicle. Covered is a history of HVAC systems, airflow throughout the system, the principles of refrigerant, diagnosis of common faults in older systems, testing procedures, and finally repair and, in the case of air conditioning, recharging your system. Also included is proper evacuation and disposal of any residual refrigerant in the system. Components such as compressors, condensers, evaporators and heater cores, pressure switches and climate control electrics and switches are also covered. Finally, for people with older cars, converting from the no-longer-available R-12 to R134a is detailed. Automotive climate controls are a complex system and are difficult to repair without proper instruction. Whether you are trying to get your old classic back to its original form or are just looking to save on expensive repairs, author Jerry Clemons and this book provide the knowledge you will need to get your car back on the road and cruising in comfort.

Whether your vehicle is modified for the street or the track, keep its engine healthy by selecting the best cooling system components to match today's horsepower demands. In High-Performance Automotive Cooling Systems, author Dr. John Kershaw explains the basics of a cooling system's operation, examines coolant and radiator options, explains how to manage coolant speed through your engine and why it is important, examines how to manage airflow through your radiator, takes a thorough look at cooling fans, and finally uses all this information in the testing and installation of all these components. When considering how well modern cars perform in many areas, it is easy to forget some of the issues motorists had on a regular basis 40-plus years ago. Cars needed maintenance regularly: plugs and points had to be replaced on a frequent basis, the expected engine life was 100,000 miles rather than double and triple the expectation that you see today, and an everyday hassle, especially in warm climates, was being the victim of an overheating car. It was not uncommon on a hot day to see cars stuck in traffic, spewing coolant onto the ground with the hoods up in a desperate attempt to cool off. Fast-forward to today, and it's easy to forget that modern cars even have coolant. The temp needle moves to where it is supposed to be and never moves again until you shut the car off. For drivers of vintage cars, this level of reliability is also attainable. Muscle cars and hot rod engines today are pushed to the limit with stroker kits and power adders straining the capabilities of your cooling system to extremes never seen before. Whether you are a fan of modern performance cars or a fan of more modern performance in vintage cars, this book will help you build a robust cooling system to complement your engine.

Develop the skills to give your vehicle's worn-out interior new life! Starting with a list of necessary tools, author Fred Mattson guides you through all the required tasks, including seat restoration; door panel removal, patterning, assembly, and installation; headliner removal and installation; carpet cutting; and even convertible top restoration. The easy-to-follow, step-by-step presentation allows for a thorough understanding of all the processes. Every photo provides a hands-on approach that shows you how to repair and restore a car's interior to concours, show-quality specifications. After disassembling and gutting your car, it is easy to feel that you're in over your head when it comes to the upholstery. This is why so many do-it-yourself restorers outsource the work, at considerable expense, to an experienced upholstery shop. Taking the time to acquire the skills for upholstery restoration may feel like a daunting task, but what if an experienced upholsterer presented every skill you needed to restore upholstery yourself? Other restoration books may show you beautifully restored interiors, but they don't show you how to produce them. This book helps you learn the skills needed with instruction from a professional upholsterer, saving you thousands of dollars over outsourcing the restoration. If you are interested in saving money, doing a complete restoration yourself, or simply want to know how it's done, this book is a handy addition to your automotive library.

Countless collector car owners are skilled at performing mechanical work, but for many of them, electrical work seems like a mystery, too complicated and too confusing. However, electrical upgrades are absolutely essential for a high-performance classic car or a modified car to perform at its best. With a firm understanding of the fundamentals, you can take this comprehensive guide and complete a wide range of electrical projects that enhance the performance and functionality of a vehicle. In this revised edition (formerly titled Automotive Electrical Performance Projects) brilliant color photos and explanatory step-by-step captions detail the installation of the most popular, functional, and beneficial upgrades for enthusiasts of varying skill levels. Just a few of the projects included are: maximizing performance of electric fans; installing electronic gauges; upgrading charging systems; and installing a complete aftermarket wiring harness, which is no small task. Each facet is covered in amazing detail. Veteran author Tony Candela, who wrote CarTech's previous best-selling title Automotive Wiring and Electrical Systems, moves beyond the theoretical and into real-world applications with this exciting and detailed follow-up. This Volume 2 is essential for any enthusiast looking to upgrade his or her classic vehicle to modern standards, and for putting all the knowledge learned in Automotive Wiring and Electrical Systemsinto practice. This book is a 2015 International Automotive Media Competition (IAMC) Silver Award Winner.