Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CUYAMACA LIBRARY: mission, goals, PLOs

Annual Updates show progress towards program review goals

CC Library contributes to student success through innovative library strategies. There are three guiding principles embedded in our mission, goals, and action plans:  1) information literacy 2) emerging library technologies and 3) engagement strategies. 

The Library provides information literacy programs to teach students how to locate, evaluate, and effectively use the information. The Library also teaches information literacy concepts such as student familiarity with circulation services, reserve services, cataloging services, interlibrary loan services as well as the physical library itself. The Library continues to migrate to an online environment in the development of e-collections and the use of emerging library technologies.The Library practices engagement strategies such as outreach to students, collaboration with subject faculty, and improving physical library spaces.

The Library continues to seek ways to teach and engage our students. The library technicians continued to offer circulation services for reserve textbooks, some print titles photocopying, and a few computers. Library faculty continued to promote information literacy programs. The Library  library website. continued to be the most important gateway for student access to library collections.

Annual Updates

We will be submitted our Annual Update2019-2020 on February 10, 2021

CHALLENGES FOR 2018-2019: We are able to return to the physical library on Aug 2018. Need librarians!  Down to one librarian July 2020-Dec 2020

GOAL 1: Integrate information literacy instruction into acceleration programs and guided pathways initiatives.

  • Embedded Librarian in F2018-S2019 in online Counseling 120 courses. 
  • ESL courses have an integrated library component and librarians conduct orientations to support essay assignments.

 

GOAL 3: Investigate and evaluate new emerging library technologies for effective discovery of information

  • Added new databases in F2019-S2020The Library participates in the CCL consortium to acquire a number of new databases
  • LSP migration project began January 2019.

GOAL 4. Integrate library collections into academic programs and pathway initiatives: 

  • Aggressive weeding print reference collection.F2019-S2020. 

Goal 5: Improve library spaces that allow students to study and research.

  • Library  Grand Reopening Aug 29, 2019 (F2019)
  • Coyote WIFI Den completed
  • Coyote Corner completed
  • New furniture
  • New charging stations
  • New OPACS

 

We will be submitted our Annual Update 2018-2019 on February 10, 2020

CHALLENGES FOR 2018-2019: We are able to return to the physical library on Aug 2018. 

 

GOAL 1: Integrate information literacy instruction into acceleration programs and guided pathways initiatives.

  • Library instruction in F2018-S2019.  In Fall 2018, we were able to increase to 37 face-to-face library sessions due to partnerships with guided pathways Counselor-insturctors.
  • Embedded Librarian in F2018-S2019 in online Counseling 120 courses.. PLO results show students were able to complete library assignment that focused usage of library career resources. 
  • ESL courses have an integrated library component and librarians conduct orientations to support essay assignments.
  • Pathways Academy Peer-mentor training. Librarian lead training workshops for peer-mentors
  • Health Ed 251 course has an integrated library assignment and librarians conduct orientations to support essay assignments.

 

GOAL 2: Initiate Library-liaison program to promote student engagementDELETED and included in Goal 4

  • Librarians continue to promote services to faculty.

GOAL 3: Investigate and evaluate new emerging library technologies for effective discovery of information

  • Added new databases in F2018-S2019.The Library participates in the CCL consortium to acquire a number of new databases, which significantly added to the Library’s full-text content while keeping costs relatively low.  Added a databse called Vocational Studies Database that addresses the needs of CE disciplines and Career assignments.

GOAL 4. Integrate library collections into academic programs and pathway initiatives: 

  • Aggressive weeding print periodical collection.F2018-S2019. The print periodical collection was extensively weeded in 2017-2018 and we currently have about seven current print periodical subscriptions. Circulation statistics for F2018-S2019, show zero periodical titles have been checked out.Librarains will have to determine if we wait another year to cancel current print subscriptions and/or withdraw not-current subscriptions.

Goal 5: Improve library spaces that allow students to study and research.

  • C-219 - The Library Living Room:  Study area for students. This space used to house computers but after the flood the computers were too old to put back in the room.  We would like to turn this into a "wireless / mobile device" space where students can bring their laptops, cell phones, etc. and plug in to study. We would like the electrical polls removed from the center of the room.  We would also like the old blinds removed and have them replaced with shades similar to what is in C-145. 

Goal 6: Improve library services to help lower the cost of attending college. DELETED and included in Goal 4

  • Reserve collection continues to boost our circulation numbers, Faculty are wiling to donate textbooks. 

Goal 7: Improve library personnel professional skills and department communications DELETE

  • Regular Tuesday staff meetings continue.

 

 

 

We will be submitted our Annual Update 2017-2018 on February 10, 2019

CHALLENGES FOR 2017-2018
Our greatest challenge for FY 2017-2018 is the library disaster of May 2017- . We have lost access to the physical library and we do not have access to the print collection. We  began to have access to the print collection beginning January 2018 via a paging system, however students did not have direct access to the collection or will they have access to group study rooms or quiet study areas in the physical library. We were forced to relocate our services to different buildings on campus. For example, the library faculty will continue to offer reference assistance in E-121 and library instruction in E-206 and circulation in L-103. 

 

GOAL 1: Integrate information literacy instruction into acceleration programs and guided pathways initiatives.

  • Decrease in face2face in F2017-S2018. The Cuyamaca Library Instruction Program experienced notable decrease in face2face sessions taught doe to library flood disaster.. In Fall 2018, we were able to increase to 37 library sessions.

  • Embedded Librarian in F2017-S2018 in online Counseling 120 courses.. PLO results show students were able to complete library assignment that focused usage of library career resources. 

GOAL 2: Initiate Library-liaison program to promote student engagement.

  • Librarians continue to promote services to faculty.

GOAL 3: Investigate and evaluate new emerging library technologies for effective discovery of information

  • Added new databases in F2017-S2018
    The Library participates in the CCL consortium to acquire a number of new databases, which significantly added to the Library’s full-text content while keeping costs relatively low.  Added Current Biography and Groves Art Online. Library faculty have gathered and prioritized suggestions for additional databases for the collection.  
  • Refresh on Library website F 2017-S2018
    The Library website went through a thorough redesigned website to provide all students with a better organized and more user-friendly access point from which to begin research

GOAL 4. Integrate library collections into academic programs and pathway initiatives

  • Aggressive weeding print periodical collection.F2017-S2018
    The print periodical collection was extensively weeded in 2017-2018 based on low usage and curriculum changes.  The weeding of the print collection was accompanied by a growth in online resources.

Goal 5: Improve library spaces that allow students to study and research.

  • C-219 - The Library Living Room:  Study area for students. This space used to house computers but after the flood the computers were too old to put back in the room.  We would like to turn this into a "wireless / mobile device" space where students can bring their laptops, cell phones, etc. and plug in to study. We would like the electrical polls removed from the center of the room.  We would also like the old blinds removed and have them replaced with shades similar to what is in C-145. 

Goal 6: Improve library services to help lower the cost of attending college.

  • Reserve collection continues to boost out circulation numbers, Faculty are wiling to donate textbooks. 

Goal 7: Improve library personnel professional skills and department communications

  • Regular Tuesday staff meetings continue.

 

 

We have submitted our Program Review for 2018-2022 on Spring 2018. We are exempt from Annual Update.