Skip to main content

Cuyamaca Library: Mission & Program Review

Program Review 2018-2022

The CC library’s mission is modeled directly after the College’s Strategic Plan with outcomes that flow from the same four strategic inititantives: acceleration, guided pathways, student engagement and organizational health. 

To achieve this mission, CC Library commits to these goals:

Goal 1. Integrate information literacy instruction and resources into acceleration programs and guided pathways initiatives..
Goal 2: Initiate Library-liaison program to promote student engagement.
Goal 3: Investigate and evaluate new emerging library technologies for effective discovery of information.
Goal 4: Integrate library collections into academic programs and guided pathways initiatives. 
Goal 5: Improve library spaces that allow students to study and research.
Goal 6: Improve library services to help lower the cost of attending college.
Goal 7: Improve library personnel professional skills and department communications

To achieve this library mission, CC Library commits to these seven goals:

Goal 1: Integrate information literacy instruction into acceleration programs and guided pathways initiatives. (Strategic Plan 1,2)

How does this goal support Strategic Plan 2017+?
Accomplishment of this goal will result in information literate students who can determine the extent of information needed, access information effectively, critically evaluate information sources. Students have the information literacy skills they need to complete course assignments. Students make use of librarian faculty and staff expertise

What projects will be used to achieve this goal?
1. Integrate information literacy instruction into the curriculum.
     a. Offer face2face library instruction sessions
     b. Offer online embedded library instruction modules in selected CANVAS courses
     c. Offer reference desk instruction during library opening hours
 2. Online and embedded resources
     a. Embed library instruction and assignments into courses.
     b. Create "how to" library instruction guides and embed in the CANVAS link called Library Resources
3. Librarian-liaison program.  
     a. Proactively contact faculty to promote integrated library instruction into their courses.
     

What is the target or desired outcome?

1. Library instruction: Students in targeted courses who attend library instruction sessions will develop information literacy skills.
2. Embedded library instruction . Students in target courses who view embedded library instruction will develop information literacy skills
2. Online and embedded resources: Faculty and students will use Library website and research guides.
3. Librarian liaison program. Faculty will view library liaisons as vital partners for collaboration on grants and curriculum development.

How will you assess how well this goal was achieved (performance indicators or student learning)?
Evaluate the effectiveness of integrating library instruction into Pathways Academy.
Evaluate the effectiveness of created library instruction tools located in CANVAS Library Resources webpage.
Evaluate the effectiveness of embedded librarian in CANVAS.
Evaluate face2face library instruction.
Evaluate reference services
Evaluate student feedback on the effectiveness of research guides

 

Goal 2:  Initiate Library-liaison program to promote student engagement. (Strategic Plan 3)

How does this goal support Strategic Plan 2017+?
Accomplishment of this goal will result in subject faculty will view Library faculty and Library technicians as partners in providing students with resources and strategies to enhance learning

What projects will be used to achieve this goal?
We will develop outreach strategies to faculty
We will work with subject faculty in their respective areas to determine what instruction-related resources are needed

What is the target or desired outcome? 

Subject faculty will view Library faculty and Library technicians as partners in providing students with resources and strategies to enhance learning

How will you assess how well this goal was achieved (performance indicators or student learning)?

Count number of outreach attempts

Goal 3: Investigate and evaluate new emerging library technologies for effective discovery of information

How does this goal support Strategic Plan 2017+?
Accomplishment of this goal will result
will provide virtual access to information resources, educating users about new content, format and access options.We will put into place technological solutions to help our students locate and retrieve information quickly and efficiently.

What projects  will be used to achieve this goal?

We will revise the library website so it is up-to-date, easy to navigate, and visually compelling.
We will identify new commercial databases that make searching for resources easier for students.
We will maintain the online catalog to ensure students have easy access to print, reserve, and e-collections.
We will integrate more library instruction resources into CANVAS via a link called Library Resources.

What is the target or desired outcome?

Students will have easy access to all library services and collections via the library website, library catalog and library databases

How will you assess how well this goal was achieved (performance indicators or student learning)?

Evaluate  library website usage and navigation points.  Librarians will meet annually to discuss effectiveness of library website based on their observation of student usage. Recommendations for changes will be discussed.
Evaluate commercial database usage. Librarians will evaluate databases for relevancy to curriculum and courses. 

Evaluate online catalog to ensure students have easy access to print, reserve, and e-collections.
Evaluate effectiveness of library instruction and materials listed in CANVAS via a link called Library Resources.

GOAL 4. Integrate library collections into academic programs and guided pathway initiatives

How does this goal support the Strategic Plan 2017+? 
Students will have a library collection sufficient in quality, depth, diversity, format and currency to support their research.

What projects will be used to achieve this goal? 

We will maintain and upgrade library catalog records.
We will conduct an inventory of print materials to determine whether there is a large discrepancy between the library’s actual holdings and its catalog records.
We will conduct an annual stack maintenance project to determine condition of physical items, track overdue items, identify missing items.
We will maintain and promote reserve collection to students and faculty
We will provide interlibrary loan to give student access to materials not owned by the Library.
We will work closely with subject faculty to create accurate collection profiles that guide the Library’s purchases

What is the target or desired outcome?
Students will have a library collection sufficient in quality, depth, diversity, format and currency to support their research.

How will you assess how well this goal was achieved (performance indicators or student learning)?

Evaluate effectiveness of catalog records for easy access to collections.
Evaluate effectiveness of inventory project to determine whether there is a large discrepancy between the library’s actual holdings and its catalog records
Evaluate effectiveness of stack maintenance project to determine condition of materials, identify overdue items and track missing items.
Evaluate effectiveness of reserve collection and policies
Evaluate effectiveness of ILL services

5. Library Spaces: Provide access services, technical services and library spaces that enhances student learning and success.

How does this goal support the Strategic Plan 2017+? 
      To provide successful programs and services, CC Library relies heavily on our multi-media technicians that operate “behind the scenes” to ensure access to library sources. They provide the work and expertise to acquire sources, process sources, maintain the online catalog records, and maintain required statisitcs.
     
Access and Technical Services is defined as units responsible for the following:

  • Circulation (lending and borrowing) services,
  • Interlibrary services,
  • Course Reserves
  • Cataloging
  • Acquisitions

      Access and Technical Services functions have experienced more change than other library functions as technology has transformed the library environment. Some aspects of technical services work, for example, reserve books and media cataloging, continue to require labor‐intensive, specialized attention. 

What projects will be used to achieve this goal? 

1. Internal reports documenting student usage of library spaces.
2. Multi-media technicians explain various library policies and services to students to ensure that all students have equitable access to library collections and to ensure standards for proper use of library materials.(PLO 5).
3. Use library’s existing space to create a welcoming environment condusive to study and research.

What is the target or desired outcome?
1. Library spaces will be condusive to student study and research
2. Students will successfully identify various library policies and services.(PLO 5).
3. Identify and develop data and statistics, and assessment and discussion of findings in order to continuously improve library’s resources, services, and staff.(internal reports, not PLO)

How will you assess how well this goal was achieved (key performance indicators or student learning)?
1. User surveys. Students will be able to identify various library policies and circulation services after receiving instruction from multi-media technicians. (PLO 5)
2.  Analyze statistics in order to continuously improve library’s resources, services, and staff.(internal reports, not PLO)

Goal 6: Improve library services to help lower the cost of attending college.

How does this goal support Strategic Plan 2017+?
 Accomplishment of this goal will result in students having access to low cost options for course materials.

What projects will be used to achieve this goal?

1 We will promote reserve collection to that contributes to lowering cost of attending college.
2. We will work with faculty to embed low-cost library materials into their courses.
3. We will support subject-faculty driven OER taskforce.

What is the target or desired outcome?

Students will have zero-cost or low cost options for course materials

How will you assess how well this goal was achieved (performance indicators or student learning

1Evaluate use of reserve collection that contributes to lowering cost of attending college.

GOAL 7: Improve staff professional skills and department communications

How does this goal support the Strategic Plan 2017+? 
We will provide virtual access to information resources, educating users about new content, format and access options.We will put into place technological solutions to help our students locate and retrieve information quickly and efficiently. 

What projects will be used to achieve this goal? 

1. Educate all staff on new Strategic Plan.
2. Practice cross-training for core library duties and increase awareness among staff of how library jobs interrelate
3.Create a common understanding of assessment and educate library staff on assessment planning and methodologies

What is the target or desired outcome?
1. Staff will understand Strategic Plan, Guided Pathways Project, and more
2. All library faculty and library technicians have a professional and courteous manner to colleagues, students and faculty.
3. All library faculty and library technicians are well-trained in the best practices and procedures required by their position.
4. Library will have an established internal assessment process for continuous improvement.

How will you assess how well this goal was achieved (performance indicators)?

1. Staff meetings and discussion on above-mentioned outcomes.Changes will be recommended, discussed and implemented.
2. Library technicians and Library faculty meet regularly with Dean of LRC to discuss current trends and program changes
3. We will regularly assess our services, collections, and programs. Submit annual reports of continuous improvement

Loading ...